top of page
STANCHION BOOKS
2023 RELEASES
THE WOMAN'S PART Cover.png

THE WOMAN'S PART

by Jo Gatford

Using a combination of original prose and erasure poetry, The Woman's Part reimagines the lives and desires of Shakespeare's women — their unspoken opinions, perspectives, and unwritten endings. Each piece is accompanied by an erasure poem made from one of the character's speeches. Gatford says of her chapbook, "My aim with this collection was not necessarily to make a grand statement, but to explore the thoughts and experiences of women who were never given the stage time to say what they really thought, or the ending they deserved. Which is probably all any of us really want."

56 pages.

Perfect bound with a spine

Published: January 17, 2023

Jo Gatford is a novelist, award-winning short fiction writer, and the co-founder of creative writing organisation Writers' HQ. Her work has been published in PRISM, The Forge, trampset, Pithead Chapel, SmokeLong Quarterly and elsewhere. She occasionally tweets about weird 17th century mermaid tiles at @jmgatford. She feels very strongly about puns and, obviously, Shakespeare.

THoS Cover with blurb.jpg

THE HOUSE OF SKIN

by Karina Lickorish Quinn

THE HOUSE OF SKIN is a literary surrealist horror/thriller novelette for fans of Carmen Maria Machado and Clarice Lispector.

68 pages

Perfect bound with a spine

Published: March 28, 2023

Karina Lickorish Quinn is a Peruvian-British writer whose first novel The Dust Never Settles was published by Oneworld in the UK and Commonwealth in 2021. The Spanish translation, El Polvo Nunca Se Asienta (Arde, 2022), was chosen as a summer must-read by the national Spanish TV channel La Sexta. She has been hailed by Antonio Iturbe in La Vanguardia as a 'powerful literary voice full of echoes'. Her short stories have been published in The White Review online, Asymptote, Wasafiri , Palabritas, The Journal of Latina Critical Feminism and in Un Nuevo Sol, the first anthology of British-Latinx writing. Karina Lickorish Quinn is a lecturer in Creative Writing at Royal Holloway University of London.

1.png

WHERE WE SET OUR EASEL

by Mandira Pattnaik

"Where We Set Our Easel" is a micro collection of 11 prose pieces. The reader tags along when a boy and girl, still in college, meet. The narrative then follows their journey through odds, hardships, kids, battlefield accident, love lost and regained.

40 pages

Perfect bound

To be published: May 23, 2023

Four Pushcart Prize-nominations (in 2020, 2021 and 2022), six for Best Microfictions (in 2020, 2021 and 2022), and thrice nominated for Best of the Net (2020, two times in 2022), and twice for Best Small Fictions (2020 and 2022), Mandira Pattnaik's writing is often praised and never duplicated. She has also been translated and highly commended by editors including Longlisting at Wigleaf Top 50 2022, Honorable Mention in CRAFT Flash Contest 2020, Highly Commended at Litro Magazine Summer Contest 2021, shortlisting at New Flash Fiction Contest 2022, RetreatWest Micro Fiction and Strands International, longlisting at SmokeLong Comedy Prize 2021, Brilliant Flash and AWC Furious Fiction.

 

Pattnaik's previus poetry and prose collections include “In the Glow of a Velvet Moon’”(Ghost City Press, Sep 2021), “Anatomy of a Storm–Weathered Quaint Townspeople” (Fahmidan, Nov 2022), and “Girls Who Don’t Cry” (Alien Buddha Press, Jan 2023).

She can be found at mandirapattnaik.com or on Twitter @MandiraPattnaik

20230418_172721_0000.png

IRREGULARS

by Kerry Trautman

Not unlike a Robert Altman film with a sprawling & stellar ensemble cast, Kerry Trautman's novella "Irregulars" weaves a myriad of stories over breakfast on one morning in a small town diner. We follow our protagonist, a still-young but not-quite-as hopeful-as-she-once-was waitress as she floats from table to table, back of house to front, serving customers, dealing with coworkers, managing her anxieties, and remembering moments of her own past and, with omniscience, those of the families and individuals seated at tables 4, 10, 7, 8 and 5.

70 pages

Perfect bound with spine.

Published: July 18, 2023

A lifelong Ohioan, Kerry Trautman is a co-founder of ToledoPoet.com and the "Toledo Poetry Museum" page on Facebook, which promote Northwest Ohio poetry events. She was a poetry editor for Red Fez from 2016-2022, and she has served as judge or workshop leader for the NW region of Ohio’s “Poetry Out Loud” competition annually since 2016. Her work has appeared in various anthologies and journals, including Slippery Elm, Free State Review, The Fourth River, Thimble, Midwestern Gothic, and Gasconade Review. Kerry's poetry books are Things That Come in Boxes (King Craft Press 2012,) To Have Hoped (Finishing Line Press 2015,) Artifacts (NightBallet Press 2017,) To be Nonchalantly Alive (Kelsay Books 2020,) and Marilyn: Self-Portrait, Oil on Canvas (Gutter Snob Books 2022.) Her next book is forthcoming in early 2023 from Roadside Press.

it skips a generation book cover_front.png

IT SKIPS A GENERATION

by Alison Lubar

The poetry collection "it skips a generation" travels back and forth in time, from before the Japanese Internment to the present. It examines the author's relationship with their grandfather (Ojisan) Jack who (along with his mother and sister) was imprisoned at Tule Lake Relocation Center. The poems consider intergenerational trauma & healing, and what survives. “it skips a generation” also reflects on Lubar's own mixed-race and queer (nonbinary, sapphic, femme) identity. They say of "it skips a generation," "I've felt a responsibility to tell this story of the Internment, particularly due to the importance of representation. I grew up without seeing or reading anything about people who looked like me, or had the background that I did. I hope to change this."

42 pages.

Perfect bound with spine.

To be published in September 26, 2023.

Alison Lubar teaches high school English by day and yoga by night. They are a queer, nonbinary, mixed-race femme whose life work (aside from wordsmithing) has evolved into bringing mindfulness practices, and sometimes even poetry, to young people.  Their debut chapbook, Philosophers Know Nothing About Love, is out now with Thirty West (May 2022); their second, sweet euphemism, is forthcoming with CLASH!, an imprint of Mouthfeel Press, in 2023. You can find out more at http://www.alisonlubar.com/ or on Twitter @theoriginalison

ghost mom preorder image.jpg

GHOST MOM

by T. Guzman

In an effort to be fully transparent, T. Guzman's mother is, in fact, very much alive. This is a story about a mom who isn't exactly alive and a young adult who isn't exactly living.

~55 pages.

To be published on November 28, 2023.

T Guzman writes and does things in general. MFA graduate of Northern Michigan University. Published in Homology, Landlocked, Press Pause Press, and elsewhere. Zebra Cakes connoisseur. Exclamation point enthusiast. Chicanx. He/him.

STANCHION BOOKS
2024 RELEASES (1st Slate)

We Don't Know That This Is Temporary by Adrienne Marie Barrios

Untenable Mystic Charm and Other Stories by travis tate

Thoughts I Lost in the Laundry by Leia Butler

The Unaccounted for Circles of Hell by Lynne Schmidt

My Dungeon Love Affair by Stephanie Parent

AWAY FROM HOME Anthology

Books: News & Updates
bottom of page